Past President & Mentor

Past President & Mentor

Dr. Deepa Bhajekar

Dr. Deepa Bhajekar, PhD
Past President (2011-2014)

Dr. Deepa Bhajekar, currently the Director of d technology, was the founder-President of the AOAC-India Section. Dr. Bhajekar pursued her doctoral degree in Food Microbiology from the Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai. While setting up the new stage in India, Dr. Bhajekar’s principal motivation was to develop a common ground for various groups of people to discuss emerging, complex and potentially valuable analytical issues. Also, she played a crucial role in organising the Section’s two annual conferences in Mumbai and Delhi, where she apprised the attendees about how the newly-founded Section could offer solutions to real-life analytical challenges.


Dr. Sumit Sen 

Dr. Sumit Sen, PhD
Past Mentor (2011 – 2015)

Dr Sumit Sen, the Past Mentor for the AOAC-India Section, aspired to establish a new section for ensuring a better appreciation of the analytical sciences in India. Dr. Sen has been working at the United States Food and Drug Administration (US FDA) for more than two decades. At the US FDA’s facility in Irvine, California, he is currently working as a Chemistry Branch Instrument Specialist. He received his bachelor degree in Chemical Engineering from Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India, followed by an MS in Chemical Engineering and a PhD in Polymer Chemistry, both from the University of Akron, Ohio, USA. Dr Sen’s time-honoured connection with AOAC INTERNATIONAL and his professional experience in analytical instrumentation, quality assurance/quality control and food regulatory laws, in turn, have influenced his role as a mentor.